Thank You Lehman College

I want to thank everyone who made it possible to celebrate my transition from eight years as a Director of the Counseling Center at Lehman College to this new journey as Associate Dean of Student Development at Bronx Community College. The celebration was more than I expected, and my heart is full of gratitude.

Yesterday, I shared the story of my transition from NYU to Lehman College, but memory can be deceptive, it scrunches time into a few weeks, when in fact it took a few months for me to transition from NYU to Lehman College eight years ago.

As I reflect on the past, it all comes to me so clearly.

I remember that eight years ago I applied for the very competitive position of Director of Counseling in May, the Vice President was determine to pick the best candidate, and so he was cautious. I came in at the tail end of it all, equipped with all of the knowledge about Lehman College.

I read their Middle State Study, reviewed their website, I walked the campus, visited their Counseling Center, so I knew as much as I needed to know about Lehman. I hand delivered my resume, and a few weeks later I was interviewed, and then it took a few more weeks before I really had the job. All in all, I applied in May and started the job in August of that year.

In 2006, I took a workshop with the Center for Digital Storytelling in Berkley, that year, they were visiting the East Coast. I felt so fortunate to be able to participate in their wonderful, wonderful program.

To honor my experience at Lehman College, I created a Digital Story of my journey “The Path of Wisdom”. I would like to share it with all of you.

Thank you all for the years of wisdom. In gratitude, Annecy.

And to the staff at the Counseling Center, remember you are the best! Thank You! Thank You! y Gracias, with much love and appreciation.

Leave a Reply

