My Daughter’s Eyes


This morning it is cloudy, and you can smell the coming rain in the air. The past two years have been a process of being present with what life has to offer. Death. The inevitability of our lives. Life …. to live every moment as if it were out last.


I pray for those who have guided my life.

In Memory:

I pray in memory of Sandy Taylor, the editor of my book, who passed away a few months after its release. I miss your presences. You were a dear friend and mentor. I want you to know how grateful I was for his perseverance and care of me. Your rare unconditional love and respect is dearly missed.

To my aunt, Jovita, who died last August of breast cancer, I still think I can call you in the Bronx, and that you will pick up the phone. To my uncle Nick, who died this August, I still remember how you reminded us in our last Christmas party to keep our traditions, to remain connected to family, to gather and celebrate as we always have done, and you told us soon our elders would be leaving us and we would become the mentors and elders for the younger one’s who were present. You were so right. To my mother who died of cancer, and my father who passed away five years ago. May you all rest in peace. I miss your presence here on earth, but know that your spirit and loving energy guides my way.

In honor:

I pray also in honor of my niece who is battling Leukemia and my life partner whose resilient spirit guides my way, they are the heroes in my life.

My mission:

My mission this year is to run the Hampton’s Half-Marathon on October 2010, as a member of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team-in-Training. I’m completing this event in honor of ALL those battling blood cancers but especially my 21 year old niece, Melissa Del Rosario, who was diagnosed with Acute myelogenous leukemia (AML) in January 2010.

I will be sending a signed copy of my short story collection, My Daughter’s Eyes and Other Stories, to the first few donors. My Daughter’s Eyes and Other Stories, winner of the 2007 Mármol Prize, is a collection of fourteen interrelated stories about young Dominican women living in the Bronx as they deal with the choices they make in their everyday life.

Please make a tax-deductible donation to support my participation in Team-In-Training and help advance LLS’s mission. Each donation, even $5.00 dollars, is one important step closer to a cure. Donating is easy, you can send me a check payable to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, and mail it to me: Annecy Baez, Ph.D. Lehman College/CUNY – The Counseling Center – 250 Bedford Park Blvd West, Old Gym Building, Room 114, Bronx, New York 10468 or you can visit my fund raising website to make a secure donation online: http://pages.teamintraining.org/wch/hampton10/abaez3

Leave a Reply

